Tags

, ,

Lately I’ve been thinking about the curious responses I often recieve by religious folks after I answer their questions as to why I left Mormonism and why I haven’t aligned myself with another community of faith. Except for the most fanatic of the believers, I tend to get a response that varies little from the following  “I don’t really believe in the myths or supernatural aspects of my faith either.  I just believe in doing good to all men and that’s the essence of my religion.”

Well, I don’t like to view the world in black and white, but the essence of everyone’s religion appears an awful lot like Humanism.

An assortment of food dishes at a church potluck.

Image via Wikipedia

Humanism: A secular ideology which espouses reason, ethics, and justice, whilst specifically rejecting supernatural and religious dogma as a basis of morality and decision-making.

So, is that it?

Religious folks today are just Humanists with cool coming of age ceremonies, more colorful holidays and better potlucks?

